222 Port Place

Home of All Things Priori
A Best Selling Series: A Dance of Storms and Shadows
By M. F. C. Assoum
WhatsApp Image 2020-10-20 at 6.20.40 PM.

An Introduction to the A Dance of Storms and Shadows Series

Every time lightning strikes, you will remember the Priori.

A Dance of Storms and Shadows follows the tradgic stories of Michael, Sumaya and Charlie; three young Australian's from diverse backgrounds who share one thing in common, that despite their unimaginable traumas; their unwavering passion and drive to do good, to be better and mostly importantly their unfaltering hope in the human spirit guides them to the Order of the Priori.

Trapped in an ancient war being fought in the shadows, the Priori and the Oscura battle for control over the human condition and ultimately, the fate of the planet.

After a prophetic warning comes to pass, Michael, Sumaya and Charlie must learn to tap into their deepest sources of power - their pain and traumas - to help save their new home from the impending threat of annihilation.

Will the scales forever be tipped in favour of the Priori or the Oscura? and will Michael, Sumaya and Charlie ever find peace from their experiences? or will their new lives be an eternal reminder of the atrocities that they have experienced?

Strike of Lightning Audiobook  Sample


About the Author

  • LinkedIn

Dr Mohamad Fairouz Chah Assoum is an Australian based writer who also works as an Infectious Disease Epidemiologist. Dr Assoum is a fellow survivor of trauma. M. F. C. Assoum is his pen name.

In 2008, Dr Assoum eldest brother was murdered in cold blood for his strong and successful effort in preventing troubled youth from joining violent gangs. He was 26 years old. Unable to cope with the trauma of such a loss, Dr Assoum was flung into the grips of depression, which forced him to place his university studies on hold. 

To escape his pain and sorrow,  Dr Assoum travelled around the world, learning, sharing and growing. Once he emerged from his dark place, he was inspired to dedicate his life to helping those who have survived trauma. Thus, A Dance of Storms and Shadows Series was born. 

The idea for this series came about after volunteering with survivors of abuse and trauma. Having spoken to and mentored numerous survivors, when discussing inspiration, one commonality stuck out. There was a notable absence of protagonists who had risen from the throngs of real, profound trauma in literature and pop culture. 


Most, if not all protagonists in popular culture, experience some mild forms of trauma, which allow them to grow into becoming the heroes of the story. However, the antagonists of great literature are those who have been subjected to abominable traumas which turn them inevitably into villains. This series questions why should abominable trauma equal villainous behaviour? What if for once, protagonists turned to heroism through such extreme traumas?

This literary trend disheartens those who have been through the unimaginable; having almost lost all hope for a better life. The real-world survivors, the heroes of said horrific traumas, who have turned to good rather than evil deserve literary hope and more so, representation.


Coming Soon

To celebrate our 5th birthday, Book 1 - Strike of Lightning will be re-released in a third edition - featuring a brand new cover,  all new scenes, an improved storyline and new chapters.

This version will be release on Christmas Day 2021.

Stay Tuned.

WhatsApp Image 2020-11-12 at 2.56.06 PM.

Coming December 2021


Books by M. F. C. Assoum